Been There Done That In 2012

As always, I got this idea from someone else, a friend of mine who posted his list on his Facebook wall and I thought it was a great idea. Thanks Dan, hope you don’t mind that you were the inspiration for this.

Here are some things I did in 2012:

*Knitted something for myself for the first time (and no, it wasn’t a dishrag, it’s actually a
herringbone cowl, that turned out quite nice, and is already serving its purpose since we’re now in
single digits on most days)

*Drove a trailer behind the Suburban from Los Angeles to CO by myself (Hayden cheered me on
from the back seat)

*Became more disciplined, consistent, and creative with meal planning (which in polite terms means
I think I cooked some pretty amazing food and put a lot of work into it! There, I’ve now sprained my
arm patting myself on the back)

*Made a whole new set of friends in a new town

*Started going to a small group through our church for the first time

*Created a new support group for families of kids with disabilities in our region

*Wrote more

*Let go of two toxic relationships

Not that you asked, but here a couple of things I noticed when I was writing my list. First of all, I immediately began comparing myself to my friend’s list before I even wrote down one thing about my year. How neurotic is that? Ya, that’s usually how I roll. But instead of going straight to self condemnation (my usual M.O.) I used this as an opportunity to speak some positive life into myself: that I am unique, life is NOT a contest of whose life is more interesting, compelling or adventurous, and that I am living the life that God has called me to live.

The other thing I noticed right away was how HARD it was for me to write a list of things that I had done that were exclusively FOR me or BY me, not an activity or event that was connected to being a mom or wife. Wow. Super hard. Immediately I thought, “Well my friend who’s idea I stole is a guy, so it’s easier for him to come up with a list of things he did that were just for himself, were fun or for the first time, or wacky, or out of character. Well, ya know, he’s a guy.” That sort of thing. But I pulled up short and just tried to own my own stuff. I think by definition, being a mom does intrinsically connect your everyday activities to your children, especially if you’re a full time stay at a home mom who teaches your kids at home like I do. So, note to self, “It probably won’t kill you to go out do a little bit more just for you.” Fortunately the year is young and I have time.

Well, that’s my list. What’s yours?

Leave a Reply

The Diary of a Not So Ordinary Boy

My world, its ups and downs

4healthypaws

A Holistic Site for ALL Paws

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Talking Math with Your Kids

Because children enjoy using their minds

The Never Say Never Home Schooler

A home school blog written by someone who NEVER, EVER thought she'd home school. This ain't your mama's idea of home schooling, but the kids are learning despite me!

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

ipledgeafallegiance

When will we ever learn?: Common sense and nonsense about today's public schools in America.

Left Coast Dad 2 Two

I Control The Remote When No One Else Is Home

Teacher to Mum

Whispered reflections about being a mindful parent

