Yep, It’s Been Three And A Half Years

Life spoiler alert: We never get to choose our circumstances. It sounds like something you’d see on a Blue Mountain Arts greeting card painted in calming blue watercolors. There would be a brook or a stream cutting through a fresh Spring meadow with a jagged mountain range in the background, and if by magic by reading the card, you’d feel better about some aspects of your life. I’d like to shred that card into a thousand bits and then set it on fire.

Well that just screams “Please read the rest of this blog NOW!”, doesn’t it?

Sorry, just having one of those all too frequent “real moments” there.  Our family is in the process of moving, again. Another big move out of state, which we have now done about every three and a half years since 2005 (spoiler alert: I have no idea why, so don’t look for the answer to that question in this installment, and I have a feeling I won’t know until I reach heaven, and by then I’ll be too exhausted to care or ask). The circumstances could not be more sucky (I know serious writers would never use that term in a blog…..just wanted to throw that out there in case you thought I had any writing skill whatsoever), but overall I know the move is going to be good.

The circumstance that brought us to this decision is that my dad died last month. 47 days ago to be exact. 47 grueling, horrifically painful with-no-end-in-sight days ago. It was not expected. What was expected is that I was to fly up to see him before he went to the hospital for a heart procedure and then I was to stay for a couple of weeks while he began his journey of recuperation. Instead, on the day I was to have flown back home to my family, my family was with me at my dad’s church as I hosted his memorial service. He died the night before the operation had originally been scheduled. I don’t care how many brain cells you have left, there’s nothing under the sun, around the sun, or beyond the sun to prepare you for that black hole. But it happened. My dad changed his residence to heaven, and while I couldn’t be happier for his location, there are no adequate words to describe the depths of my sadness as to his timing. His (the big “H”) timing and his timing.

So here we are, preparing to move. After my dad retired as a hardware engineer for a major American computer hardware company, he became a missionary. As I was launching my career in radio after college, he launched his career in the service of others. He helped install wells and water systems in Guatemala after a horrific earthquake, he did the same thing in Chile, he traveled to the dumps in Mexico to hand out much needed supplies to the thousands of families who live there, dug wells in Papua New Guinea, helped build the YWAM base in Kona, Hawaii, and helped build a children’s home, school and a Bible college in Chennai, India. There were, and are, other projects around the world, but you get the point, the man was busy. And he loved to help. And we loved that he loved to love to help. My husband and I have been board members of his faith based non profit (His Truth Ministries) since its inception and are very grateful for all the work my dad did around the world right up until he passed away.

Because of the nature of the work and how his organization has operated in the past (including its current very large project near HTM headquarters), we believe it’s best for us to relocate to the ministry’s headquarters in the Pacific Northwest. His Truth Ministries has a history of being “boots on the ground” and helping a variety of local organizations in practical ways, and we want to continue my dad’s work. We may not be able to match his energy level, but at least we’ll be on the same road as he was. So, off we go.

Aside from the obvious task of working through our grief, we are really looking forward to this new challenge of heading up the ministry and carrying on my dad’s amazing legacy. We are believing God for more good things, more opportunities to serve, more ways to have an impact on our community, and more relationships where we can show people how God wants us to be free. It wasn’t that long ago that both my husband and I were completely miserable and bound up in self-hatred, shame, guilt, toxic sin, and were just generally miserable, so nothing on the earth energizes us more than helping people in practical ways and serving people right where they’re at. Jesus didn’t come to earth to give the world a new religion, He came to give us life and set us free:

John 10:10(ESV) The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it                   abundantly”.

We definitely do not have all the answers, and we clearly don’t have a clue as to how all the details of our future are going to play out, but we do know the One who does. And for today that’s enough.

We hope you join us in this new journey. You can find His Truth Ministries on Facebook at http://His Truth Ministries and we hope to have an Instagram account up and running in the near future. Please continue to hold our family in your prayers. Losing my dad has been very difficult for all of us (just when I think I can’t cry anymore, I start crying again. Rinse and repeat). Our daughter (who is more like him everyday) has lost her buddy, her walking encyclopedia, her sounding board, her all-things-conversant-about-different-dimensions-in-the-universe guy, and she is not looking forward to leaving her friends here (despite the fact that we tell her that when her dad and I were her age we only had smoke signals with which to communicate with other tribes across the land, while she has vast (albeit some scary) choices via social media). We are praying for God’s direction in everything we are considering doing and we greatly appreciate you praying with us and over us. We need it.

Leaving is never easy, and I’ve yet to master the graceful exit, so we hope to stay in contact with as many of you as possible and hope you know that this is not goodbye, it’s just “see you later”.

P.S. As I was sitting here contemplating the title for this post (and I’m still not happy with it), I looked up today’s verse on my Bible app on my phone. It’s too good not to share:

Psalm 59:16 (AMP) But I will sing of Your mighty strength and power; yes, I will sing aloud of Your mercy and loving-kindness in the morning; for You have been to me a defense (a fortress and a high tower) and a refuge in the day of my distress.

2 Comments

  1. Athena

    Beautifully said, we will continue to use our smoke signals for our families to communicate. Love the Wright Clan

  2. Naomi

    Brilliant message today, Gigi! Even tho’ I hate to see you leave GJ, I am encouraged by the fact that you are following after Gods heart. He knows our beginning and end. He knows our thoughts before we think them, and our days before we live them out. Your family has been a blessing to me that I can’t quite describe. We love you all!

Leave a Reply

The Diary of a Not So Ordinary Boy

My world, its ups and downs

4healthypaws

A Holistic Site for ALL Paws

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Talking Math with Your Kids

Because children enjoy using their minds

The Never Say Never Home Schooler

A home school blog written by someone who NEVER, EVER thought she'd home school. This ain't your mama's idea of home schooling, but the kids are learning despite me!

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

ipledgeafallegiance

When will we ever learn?: Common sense and nonsense about today's public schools in America.

Left Coast Dad 2 Two

I Control The Remote When No One Else Is Home

Teacher to Mum

Whispered reflections about being a mindful parent

